Les mots du jour

Yes, it’s been a while since I blogged but this one’s been brewing for a while.  Or is it festering?

I love words but there are some which are currently so overused that I can stand it no longer.  Shields up for spleen venting.

Luxe – this is the faux leopard skin moment for ‘luxe’.  Is this a real word?  I checked.  It was not listed in the big name dictionaries but freedictionary.com gave a definition which actually warmed me to the word a little more: ‘the condition of being elegantly sumptuous’.  That’s better than just a truncated ‘deluxe’ which is what I was expecting.  Poetic, but still over used.

Curated – everything is ‘curated’ at the moment.  I can accept the verb for art exhibitions but for anything else I am extremely dubious. A magazine?  (Isn’t that edited rather than curated?) A wine list? A music festival?  A Marriott hotel turndown service?  (I am not joking)  It is being wantonly used in an attempt to sound intellectual.  Please stop.

Gotten – there is absolutely no excuse for using ‘gotten’ unless you are American.  Surely I don’t need to explain.

I’m feeling a bit better now so will quit there although I have to add that ‘Boxing Clever’ is one of my most hated headlines.  What does that even mean?  If you know, tell me!

Image

Go-to:  why is this suddenly so popular?  People are being described as the ‘go-to person’ for whatever.  Is it different to being an expert?

 

